We are open for business as we remodel, please call us for an appointment.
When they retired in 1956, Eddie Allen took over and renamed the popular parlor as Allen’s Barbershop. Don Mullinax joined him two years later and the two became partners. They added two more chairs, which were then used by barbers Bob Jenkins and Howard Irvin. In 1967, Louis Schrum took Irvin’s spot.
In 1969 three more barber chairs were added and remodeling was done. Then a seven-chair facility, approximately 19 barbers practiced their trade during the 70s and 80s. Ultimately, Mullinax sold his part to Allen, who changed it’s name to The Barbershop.
Louis Schrum became the sole owner in 1996 and kept the same moniker. Until October 2020, when Randy Mullinax unexpectedly passed away, Schrum, Larry Knowles and Melanie Shope worked side-by-side. Collectively the four had approximately 180 years of barbering experience.
With the loss of Randy, Louis and Larry decided to retire in July 2021 and the historic shop was purchased by Melanie Shope August 1, 2021. It’s currently receiving a facelift, but the nostalgia, history and friendly atmosphere will remain unchanged.